Our Team

The Southern Gulf Island Neighbourhood House is made possible under the guidance of a dedicated Board of Directors and volunteer team members, a visionary group committed to positive change. 

Board of Directors

Terry Shepherd, Chair, Pender Island

Ed Andrusiak, Vice Chair, Galiano Island

Tina Christensen, Secretary, Pender Island

Eve Pollard, Treasurer, Pender Island

Kat Ferneyhough, Director at Large, Mayne Island


Melody Pender, Executive Director

Michael Cowan, Managing Director / Daycare Manager

Karen Parker, Early Childhood Educator

Joel Michener, After School Program Facilitator

Simon Trevelyan, Volunteer Program


Cathie Leavins, Administrator

Priscilla Maki, Seniors Programs

Jacqueline Dupuis, Youth Program Supervisor

Liam Sigergeirson, Youth Engagement Coordinators

Jim Peacock, Community Justice Program